This week we’re supposed to give other PR students who are new to blogging some advice. Here’s my top 10 list…

#1. When blogging for a PR class it’s not fun so just know that going into it. I’ve never blogged before this class and I wasn’t totally sure what it was going to be like, but I have to be honest, it sucked. It’s A LOT to keep up with in addition to other classes, homework, extra curricular activities, and a job. I don’t think I would mind blogging so much if I could write about stuff that I’m interested in, but that’s not the case with this class.

#2. Stay on top of your required weekly blogs (i.e. reading notes, personal, topic of the week, etc.) I wish that I would have paid more attention to what I needed to do weekly because I feel like I’m kind of cramming a lot of stuff into my blog at the last minute. Don’t make my mistake of procrastinating!

#3. Comment! Comment! Comment! We’re required to comment 25 times on our classmates blogs and I’ve found this to be a real challenge. I barely have time to creat my own blog entries let alone read someone elses and leave some feed back. Try your best to make time to comment!

#4. Make your blog fun and interesting! Try to add some personal touches to your blog. I  really like Brigitte Gausche\’s blog because she has a lot of cool stuff on hers. She does a different photo of the week because she’s really into photography and has her own photography company. Check it out by clicking on the link I included earlier.

#5. Check the comments that are left on your blog and comment back. Do you agree or disagree with what someone said about one of your entries? It’s a good chance to let them know or to further explain your reason for the blog.

#6. Tell people about yourself on an “All About Me” page. This is the perfect place to let people know who you are, where you’re from, hobbies, education, etc. This is YOUR blog so give people information about YOU…but not too much. I think it goes without saying (but I’ll say it anyways), don’t put information like your address, phone number, social security number, etc. on your blog. You never know what kind of creepers are out there.

#7. Get out there and NETWORK! You should be networking regardless, but put yourself out there to meet people that are in the PR industry. Not only will you meet new people, but you can also use that as a blog entry.

#8. You can never ramble too much…unless it’s about senseless crap. Like I said before, this is YOUR blog so everything is from your perspective. People are reading your blog to see what you have to say. So in my opinion rambling isn’t a bad thing in the world of blogging.

#9. remember that anyone and everyone can read your blog. I strongly recommend using appropriate language in your blog, especially when it’s one for a class. Don’t drop “f-bombs.” If you’re frustrated and having a bad day, don’t take it out on your blog that your instructor will be reading.

#10. Try to stay positive about your required blogging. Like I said in my number one rule, blogging isn’t always fun, so try to keep a positive attitude and maybe it won’t be so bad!

Well, those are my top ten little nuggets of advice for first time student bloggers! I hope they’re helpful! 🙂

