This week we were given the topic of INFOGRAPHICS.

Our book, Public Relations Writing and Media Techniques by Dennis L. Wilcox, does a great job of defining what it is. Wilcox defines infographics as “computer-generated artwork used to display statistics in the form of tables and charts.” I love this book because it’s very straight forward and to the point. Here’s a link to it in case you’d like to read it or learn more about it…PR Writing and Media Techniques.

Infographics can be very useful to almost anyone, but especially for my client, PRSSA. If my client used an infographic in an article published in the George-Anne Daily (that’s the on-campus newspaper here at G.S.U in case you didn’t know) about how much money the organization raise for its American Cancer Society Relay For Life team this year in comparison to years past it would be helpful and very easy to read because of the neatness of the infographic.

As part of this weeks assignment we were asked to try to create our own infographic. Well, I know won’t be able to do that because of my lack of technology skills. So instead I found one that I think it pretty cool as well as informative. It’s titled, The Best Beers In America, and it rates which beers are enjoyed the most in every part of the U.S.A as well as the best brewers. I found it on a blog by a visual thinking and visual data professional named Randy Krum. Click this link and you’ll go straight to the page about the . Click this link and you be taken to the embedded infographic.

I hope you enjoy Randy’s infographic and find it as interesting as I did! Have a great day! 🙂

