Chapter three covers everything from photo releases, copyrighting, infringement, and everything in between. A couple of sections in the reading that I found most interesting were:

1. On the first page of the chapter where it gives samples of government regulatory agency cases and lawsuits that had to do with PR and PR practitioners. Some of these cases seemed to have good merit, while others seemed to be a little ridiculous. I find it a bit strange that a company would use “the claim that its chicken didn’t contain antibiotics believed to cause drug resistance in humans” as its selling point, but to each his own (…I guess.)

2. In the section about libel and defamation I got a little confused. I had to read it a couple of times to completely understand the difference between the two.  In the text it says, “according to the AP Stylebook, ‘libel is injury to reputation. Words, pictures, cartoons that expose a person to public hatred, shame, disgrace, or ridicule, or induce an ill opinion of a person are libelous.” But then it goes on to say that “printed falsehood” is known as libel and slander is “oral communication.” OK? Well, then it continues with “today courts use the term defamation as a collective term.” I get the whole collective term thing, but so do we not use libel and slander anymore? Confusing if you ask me.

3. Another section I found interesting was the misappropriation of personality. I thought this was an interesting section because it has to do with people and their likenesses no matter if they’re dead or alive.

Overall, I think chapter 3 might be the most interesting chapter we’ve read up to this point. Hope everyone is having a great semester so far! 🙂

