Sorry I’m just now getting to post my thoughts on the readings. I’ve been super busy with school, going home for doctor’s appointments, and all that jazz. Moving along…

A few things that I found interesting in chapter one were:

1. The section on computers. It might sound silly to some people, but I was blown away by all of the different types of computers, word processing packages, and the different amount of GB one can purchase. I have a laptop, but I couldn’t tell you how many GB of memory or anything it has. After reading that section it was clear to me that I need to do some more research on high tech gagets before I purchase them.

2. I really liked the section on Professional Publications. As a member of PRSSA I receive PRSA Public Relations Tactics as well as PRSSA Forum. I love reading the articles in these publications and seeing what professional in the PR field are doing as well as what PR students are up to.

3. A section that I think most people need to remember was “How to Improve Your Writing.” I know I’m guilty of making mistakes in my writing, but this section on page 24 had a few helpful tips from an article by Katie Badeusz (www.Ragan.com) on how to clean up and spice up your writing. Katie says to “be clear, avoid jargon, include quotes, and allow yourself to write crap…” along with a few other pieces of advice to improve your writing.

These are just a few points that caught my attention in chapter one.

~Megan

